Erik Seidel leads the Aussie Millions $250,000 Challenge

Erik Seidel

Yevgeniy Timoshenko won the first event reserved to highrollers at the 2014 Aussie Millions, to bag AU$2 million and he is now aiming for a repeat in the LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge. After besting Mike McDonald in a lengthy heads-up, he is once again in good shape to make the final table tomorrow when the event concludes.

The runner up in the $100,000 Challenge was also among those who paid the hefty buy in and after busting early in the game, he chose to fire another bullet. He wasn’t more successful the second time and this is something that Philipp Gruissem and Daniel Negreanu can relate to. We don’t know about Philipp, but Negreanu announced on Twitter that he will return tomorrow, hoping to replicate yesterday’s performance when he enjoyed a nice return on investment.

Erik Seidel didn’t need a rebuy to make it to the top and with 944k chips to his name, he is trying to consolidate his lead over the pack. Tom Dwan is the nearest rival with 815k chips, while Team PokerStars Online Isaac Haxton and Team PokerStars Pro Jason Mercier come in 3rd and 4th. Isaac bought in 6 times in the $100,000 Challenge but to no avail and hopes to offset his loses tomorrow when the games resume. Unlike Haxton who alreadybought in twice for the 2014 Aussie Millions LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge, Mercier is quite content with what he has accomplished. He sits on a decent stack and his chances to make the money look very good. Jason’s only regret is that at one point he was above the 1 million threshold but sank back in, to finish the day with 767,000 chips.


The payout structure will be announced tomorrow after we’ll have the official number of entries, but meanwhile you can take a look at the 10 leading players.

1) Erik Seidel – 944,000
2) Tom Dwan – 815,000
3) Isaac Haxton – 800,000
4) Jason Mercier – 767,000
5) Yevgeniy Timoshenko – 705,000
6) Tony Bloom – 623,000
7) Phil Ivey – 622,000
8) Christoph Vogelsang – 620,000
9) Tobias Reinkemeier – 550,000
10) Paul Newey – 482,000