Pages Navigation Menu

NBC HU Championships – Big Names Through To Round Of 32

Today we saw the $25k NBC Heads-Up Championships 64 of the world’s biggest and best players all locking horns. Today saw that 64 cut in half as we had 16 players playing off against each other in each suit.

The winners from each match will now have to play against other winners in their suit to see if they can make the quarter finals. There were some fantastic matches, whist we have some even better ones to look forward to in the last 32.


Barry Greenstein Won Against Ben Lamb

John Monnette Won Against Greg Raymer

Viktor Blom Won Against Andrew Lichtenberger

Mike Matusow Won Against Michael Mizrachi

John Hennigan Won Against David Williams

Sam Simon Won Against David Oppenheim

Phil Ivey Won Against Phil Laak

Justin Bonomo Won Against Isaac Haxton


Joseph Cheong Won Against Olivier Busquet

Bruce Miller Won Against Jean-Robert Bellande

Phil Galfond Won Against Maria Ho

Eugene Katchalov Won Against Faraz Jaka

Justin Smith Won Against Bertrand Grospellier

Phil Hellmuth Won Against Mike Sexton

Chris Moneymaker Won Against Jason Somerville

David Sands Won Against Rob Salaburu


Antonio Esfandiari Won Against Jennifer Tilly

Jonathan Duhamel Won Against Matt Glantz

Chris Moorman Won Against Carlos Mortensen

Dan Cates Won Against Matt Salsberg

Vanessa Rousso Won Against Yevgeniy Timoshenko

Shaun Deeb Won Against Andy Frankenberger

Kyle Julius Won Against Andy Bloch

Scott Seiver Won Against Will Failla


Tom Dwan Won Against Erik Seidel

Doyle Brunson Won Against Tom Marchese

Brian Hastings Won Against Matt Matros

Eli Elezra Won Against Nick Schulman

Joe Serock Won Against Greg Merson

Huck Seed Won Against Mohsin Charania

Gaelle Baumann Won Against Liv Boeree

Dan Smith Won Against Jason Mercier

With the field now halved at this point, it has brought us some very interesting matches in the next round. We see the old master Brunson versus the young pretender Dwan, we see the super tight Matusow versus the super aggressive Blom, and we see Britain’s best tournament player Moorman up against David “Doc” Sands.

The Rounds Of 32!

Barry Greenstein – John Monnette

Viktor Blom – Mike Matusow

Sam Simon – John Hennigan

Justin Bonomo – Phil Ivey

Joseph Cheong – Bruce Miller

Phil Galfond – Eugene Katchalov

Justin Smith – Phil Hellmuth

Chris Moneymaker – David Sands

Antonio Esfandiari vs. Jonathan Duhamel

Chris Moorman – Dan Cates

Vanessa Rousso – Shaun Deeb

Scott Seiver – Kyle Julius

Doyle Brunson – Tom Dwan

Brian Hastings – Eli Elezra

Huck Seed – Joe Serock

Dan Smith – Gaelle Baumann

We already cannot wait until tomorrow’s action, with the potential quarter final clashes looking almost as delicious as these ones.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 6 = eight

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>