Phil Ivey wins the Aussie Millions $250,000 Challenge

Phil Ivey

One day after Ami Barer was crowned as winner of the Aussie Million Main Event, the LK Boutique $250,000 Challenge resumed, with Erik Seidel as chip leader. He had almost 1 million chips in front of him when the games began, but finished outside of paid places, behind online nosebleed limit specialist Tom Dwan. Germany’s Fabian Quoss followed him to the rail soon after, but he didn’t leave empty-handed, as a 5th place finish paid AU$800,000.

Yesterday, two Canadian players competed for the 1st prize in the Aussie Million Main Event and today two others were close to matching their performance. Daniel Negreanu and Mike McDonald made the final table and despite relatively slow starts, both of them claimed the chip lead for a while. McDonald finished in the 3rd place and collected AU$1.9 million, with his final hand being forced by the fast-rising blinds. Mike is truly proud of his achievement and his message posted on Twitter minutes after his elimination, which confirms the fact that he realises the magnitude of his success at the 2014 Aussie Millions:

Daniel Negreanu’s performance at the final table was simply impressive, as the Canadian shifted into an aggressive gear from the very start. He was hard pressed to finish 5th or higher, after rebuying twice and achieved his goal with relative ease, before yielding to Phil Ivey. Daniel committed his stack with the weaker hand and despite hitting a favourable flop, his hopes and dreams were crushed on the river:


Isaac Haxton and Phil Ivey were left to fight for the first prize of AU$4 million and by the time heads-up began, they had similar stacks, with Haxton holding a slight lead of 800k in chips. Isaac was in control of the game for most of the time, but he lost it all in the last 30 minutes, to propel Ivey to his second Aussie Millions $250,000 Challenge.

Check out the 6 players who made the money at 2014 Aussie Millions’ richest event:

1. Phil Ivey – AU$4,000,000
2. Isaac Haxton – AU$2,820,000
3. Mike McDonald – AU$1,900,000
4. Daniel Negreanu – AU$1,250,000
5. Fabian Quoss – AU$800,000
6. Tom Dwan – AU$500,000