Schneider claims the chip lead in the Aussie Millions ME

Dean Schneider

Only 153 players bought in for Day 1B at the Aussie Millions Main Event, 23 less than in Day 1A, but 82 of them will join the 88 survivors on Wednesday. Dean Schneider will be bringing the biggest stack, as he surged to the top of the list at the end of the day, being just 12k short of 200,000 chips.

Many poker professionals who either busted in the $25,000 Challenge event or didn’t participate at all, chose to enter the Main Event on Day 1B. Most of the prominent survivors are revolving around 100k chips, with Gareth Dwyer being a notable exception with a towering stack of 161k. Erik Seidel has crossed the six-digit threshold, while Antonio Esfandiari amassed only 77.7k, but he doesn’t seem too upset and chose to enjoy the small things in life.

Things could have been much worse and Antonio knows it, with several professionals including Aaron Benton, Andy lee, David Steicke and Michael Egan being already eliminated. Reigning champion Mervin Chan put up quite a fight and recovered twice after suffering serious blows, but in the end he was sent to the rail in dramatic fashion. It was during Level 6 that he hit a straight on the flop, against Sotirios Kappas’ two pairs that improved to a full house on the river. One of the few PokerStars Team Pro players who are still in the race after Day 1b is Jonathan Duhamel who found himself on the verge of being eliminated twice. He will try to make the most of a puny stack of 19.1k but he is fairly confident in his chances of beating the odds.


Day 1c starts tomorrow at 12:30 local time, with Philipp Gruissem, Scott Seiver, Daniel Negreanu, Angel Guillen, Dan Shak and Jason Mercier expected to buy in.

Meanwhile these were the best placed 10 players at the end of Day 1b and their stacks:

  1. Dean Schneider – 188,800
  2. Gareth Dwyer – 161,100
  3. Tolly Sakellariou – 140,00
  4. Daniel Neilson – 119,900
  5. Erik Seidel – 116,800
  6. Michael Hussey – 106,400
  7. Michael Laming – 105,000
  8. Matt Rynkiewicz – 103,000
  9. Sam Capra – 97,400
  10. Dennis Huntly – 95,000