Simeon Naydenov wins Event #36 and WSOP bracelet

Simeon Naydenov
Simeon Naydenov

Simeon Naydenov wins WSOP Event #36

As expected, Event #36 was decided in less than eight hours, as the surviving 12 players made their way to the final table. After Vladimir Kochelaevskiy and Kevin Vandersmissen were eliminated, the official final table was created and Simeon Naydenov quickly emerged as the dominant player.

Salman Bebehani was on a roll at the beginning of the day sending home two players after being dealt pocket Kings and Queens in a relatively quick succession. He outlasted Sumanth Reddy and Noah Bronstein, but eventually he fell to Simeon Naydenov who stole the chip lead from Jan Kropacek. The Czech didn’t last much longer and went all in against the new chip leader, only to run into pocket aces.

With a commanding stack in front of him, Simeon took his chances against Mike Watson but despite starting as underdog, he prevailed on the river when a lucky nine hit the felt. Tobias Wenker, Nacho Barbero and Andrew Kloc were far behind Naydenov and Jake Schwartz, with the latter taking advantage of their desperation and snap called their all-ins.

One day before, Jake Schwartz was the one who caused the elimination of Eric Baldwin, winning with a better kicker on a dry board. As always, Eric vented his frustration on Twitter letting followers know that his adventure at Event #36: $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em Shootout ended at table 437.

When the heads-up began Naydenov had the slight advantage over his opponent, but that made no difference because the two players were dealt a strong hand that warranted an all-in. Jake Schwartz felt overconfident in his two pairs and committed his entire stack, unaware of the fact that Simeon had a nut flush. The Bulgarian won the first World Series of Poker bracelet for his country and a hefty cheque of $326,440.

This is the full list of players who made the final tables and their corresponding payouts:

1. Simeon Naydenov – 326,440
2. Jake Schwartz – 202,035
3. Andrew Kloc – 126,250
4. Tobias Wenker – 91,749
5. José Ignacio Barbero – 67,732
6. Mike Watson – 50,774
7. Jan Kropacek – 38,621
8. Salman Behbehani – 29,771
9. Noah Bronstein – 23,259
10. Sumanth Reddy – 18,407
11. Kevin Vandermissen – 18,407
12. Vladimir Kochelaevskiy – 18,407