Sorel Mizzi leads Event #41: $5,000 Pot-Limit Omaha

Sorel Mizzi playing live
Sorel Mizzi playing live

Sorel Mizzi playing the WSOP

A round number of 400 players bought in for Event #41: $5,000 Pot-Limit Omaha but only 132 of them are still alive at the end of Day 1. Sorel Mizzi leads the pack with a healthy stack of 146,400, but the gap separating him from the next two players is less than 7,000 chips. Chad Brown and Peter Charalambous are within striking distance and five more players have finished the day above the 100,000 chips threshold.

Event #41 was packed with poker professionals and a record number will return for Day 2, some of them with stacks that are high enough to propel them to the final table. Both Freddy and Shaun Deeb advanced and the two of them have a combined 195,000 chips, so it is only fair to assume that at least one of them will make the final table. Sam Farha and Daniel Negreanu enjoyed a good run at the beginning of the day, but lost sizable pots in the final hands and are now outside of top 10.

On the other hand, Phil Galfond and the recent World Series of Poker bracelet winner Davidi Kitai have amassed enough points to be a threat for the chip leader. Sorel Mizzi enjoys his temporary lead and made sure that his followers know exactly how he fares, by tweeting regularly. Fortunately for him the final tweet radiates optimism and all he needs is to replicate Day 1 success when the games resume tomorrow:

Among the poker pros who didn’t survive day one, are WSOP bracelet winners Phil Ivey, Erick Lindgren, Jason Mercier, Joe Hachem and Erik Seidel. All of them busted late in the day, but that is only a pale consolation for these poker pros with high expectations.

Take a look at the chip count to see which were the most successful 10 players at the end of Day 1.

1. Sorel Mizzi – 146,400
2. Chad Brown – 139,600
3. Peter Charalambous – 139,600
4. Juha Helppi – 106,600
5. Davidi Kitai – 105,000
6. Shaun Deeb – 105,000
7. Phil Galfond – 101,400
8. Klaus slot Kristensen – 100,000
9. Freddy Deeb – 90,000
10. Alberto Fonseca – 88,000