WPT Alpha8 London – Gruissem Takes It Down (vids)

Pokerstars chips

It’s been a quick couple of days for one player to net a payout of £862,400 after the World Poker Tour Alpha8 London saw Day 2 crown Philipp Gruissem as the first ever winner of this event at the London stop.

There were 11 survivors that started Day 2 and an additional registration in that of Bill Perkins who flew over especially to make a late entry into the event. It all seemed a waste of a long haul trip though as he was one of the first to bust out after he fell in 10th place.

His elimination created the unofficial final table of nine before Fabian Quoss fell to finally make the final table of eight.

Once that final table was created it was the multi tasking Viktor Blom who would be the first casualty. Not only was Blom playing in this event but he was also on his laptop at the same time, playing 4 tables of high stakes poker at Full Tilt Poker.

The bubble period soon approached as it would only be the top four players walking away with any cash and it was Tony G that would be the unfortunate player to fall one spot away from the money in 5th.

This left us with the four players that would contest the paying positions with Igor Kurganov being the first of them to go. He was soon joined by Tobias Reinkemeier after he tangled with Gruissem and came out on the losing end after his Ah-3s could not hit against the pocket fours of his opponent.

This gave Gruissem the chip lead when he and Seiver headed into heads up, but this lead was swapped on numerous occasions before the chips finally found their way into the middle with Gruissem holding Ah-Jd and Seiver the Kh-Qs. It was all over when the board fell as the 9s-Jh-4s-5d-4h to crown Gruissem as the champion.

Do not despair that this event is over as there is loads of poker action on right now. The WPT Grand Prix de Paris is rumbling along whilst the ACOP in Macau also continues and the UKIPT Isle Of Man starts up tomorrow.

How It Finished

1st) Philipp Gruissem – £862,400

2nd) Scott Seiver – £509,600

3rd) Tobias Reinkemeier – £352,800

4th) Igor Kurganov – £235,200