WSOP-APAC: Australians Dominant Force So Far

Melbourne AUS

The World Series of Poker-Asia Pacific (WSOP-APAC) at the Crown Casino in Melbourne has steadily grown in numbers and attracts competitors from every part of the world.  The always gracious Australians have welcomed the players to their home turf, and by and large, relieved the visitors of their chips.

$1,100 Accumulator

The first of the ten bracelet events, the $1,100 Accumulator event provides the perfect example.

In a surprising turn of events in a very tough international event, Australian players occupied all nine seats at the final table.

Luke Brabin sat behind the most chips at the start of the final table and was looking for his first gold bracelet.  At the end of the day, he indeed realized his dream and walked away with the title and AU$131,365.

The first final table eliminations came quickly as four players were eliminated in just the first 20 hands. In took another 29 hands before Zane Ly hit the rail in sixth place. He was joined 10 hands later by Ryan Hong.

During four handed play Brabin really started to accumulate chips. Brabin pulled in the largest pot of the tournament when he won the largest pot of the tournament, 1.5 million chips and entered heads up play with an overwhelming chip lead.  His opponent, Didier Guerin, managed to win a few hands at the beginning of heads-up play, but the momentum was clearly on Brabin’s side.

Final Table Payouts (All AU$)

1 Luke Brabin $131,365
2 Didier Guerin $81,220
3 Daniel Murphy $59,334
4 Stephen Lindeblad $43,986
5 Ryan Hong $33,080
6 Zane Ly $25,234
7 Brian McAllister $19,521
8 Piyush Gupta $15,318
9 David Profaca $12,189

$2,200 No-Limit Holdem

Event 2 of the WSOP-APAC began with 31 players, 24 of whom would make the money. Jeff Gross and Kitty Kuo were among those falling short when Steven Zhou moved all in holding Jacks and was outdrawn by Aik-Chuan Nee holding A-6 and Zhou exited as the bubble boy.

The plan was to play down to the final table but with 10 players remaining Nee complained of feeling ill.  Tournament director Jack Effel announced that paramedics had been called. Effel told players that they could wait or end play for the day. They choose to end for the day and bagged their chips as paramedics attended to Nee.

Five of the remaining 10 players are Australian.

Feng Zhou   241,500
Junzhong Loo 205,500
Martin Kozlov 155,100
Samuel Ngai  153,000
Aik-Chaun Nee    149,500
Luke Spano 106,000
Sam Ruha   103,000
Peco Stojanovski 102,500
Michael O’Grady 44,500
Fred Chaptini  18,000

$1650 Pot-Limit Omaha (PLO)

Event 3 of the WSOP-APAC the $1650 Pot-Limit Omaha event drew 123 runners, which was 49 players less than the previous year’s event.

The field consisted of some of the toughest players around including Phil Helmuth.  If there is any player who is not completely aware of his achievement, it most certainly is not Helmuth. Nonetheless, prior to the tournament Helmuth tweeted:


Then followed up with:

He followed that tweet with a chip to the rail.  Joining Helmuth were Joe Hachem, Mike Leah, Ryan Riess, Billy Argyos and Jonathan Duhamel.

At the end of the Day 22 players bagged chips, just six players short of the money. Of the 22 four are members of the Australian Poker Hall of Fame; Jeff Lisandro, Gary Benson, Jason Gray and Mel Judah.

The players will return on Monday and play down to the final table.

Top 10 Chips Counts

Gary Benson    71,200
Jeff Lisandro    60,400
Paul Mac    38,600
Zane Ly    37,200
Jason Gray    34,500
Ismael Bojang    27,000
Stephen Woodhead    26,800
Oliver Gill    26,300
Vadim Pinsky    25,900 Ami Barer    25,600 -1,400