Pages Navigation Menu

WSOP Event #55 – Duhamel Leads Players’ Championship

Jonathan duhamel playing liveOne of the more popular formats of poker at the World Series Of Poker has seen Day 1 completed as the $50k Poker Players’ Championship heads into its eighth year of running. The eight game mixed event is considered one of the most prestigious events to win at the series due to the knowledge and experience of each of the variations of poker having to be very high for a player to be successful.

Day 1 saw Jonathan Duhamel finish at the top of the chip counts, though both he and Jason Mercier thought they were “prolly” the chip leader. Duhamel is the official leader though after bagging and tagging a stack of 401,300 compared to the 340,600 of Jason Mercier.

Other players that are still heavily involved but not inside the top ten include Daniel Negreanu, Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth, Scott Seiver, Erick Lindgren and Brian Rast.

Because the event is so deep stacked, there were just four eliminations from the starting field of 123, meaning 119 will return on Day 2 and hope to climb even higher in the rankings and progress into Day 3. Those four eliminations were Vanessa Selbst after she lost a huge pot to Duhamel, Matt Glantz, Ralph Perry and the great man himself Johnny Chan.


The action will be starting up again at 2pm ET today and will see those players returning to do battle in an attempt to secure one of the more prominent bracelets at the WSOP. Check in with us to see which players will still have a chance of that as we bring you the action from Day 2.

The Current Top Ten!

Jonathan Duhamel – 401,300

Jason Mercier – 340,600

Justin Smith – 336,600

Brian Rast – 319,900

Jared Bleznick – 296,000

George Lind – 294,200

Calvin Anderson – 290,500

Greg Mueller – 261,300

Mike Leah – 248,000

Tommy Hang – 240,000

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five + = 7

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>