Pages Navigation Menu

WSOP Event #56: Teichert vs Maglio to be continued

Seniors No-Limit Hold'em ChampionshipEvent #56: $2,500 No-Limit Hold’em could’ve ended earlier today, but the last two players had other plans for this competition. Nikolaus Teichert and Vincent Maglio are the last men standing and they’re still fighting in a heads-up that has the potential of pushing the tournament deep into Day 4.

They are evenly matched and although Teichert holds a slight edge over his opponent with 7,620,000 chips to Maglio’s 5,415,000, things can go either way. The blinds have reached epic proportions and at values of 50,000/100,000 anything can happen and the underdog could easily become favourite in a single hand. The stakes couldn’t be higher, because the winner will cash in a cheque worth $730,000 and the sought after World Series of Poker gold bracelet.

23 players had high expectations ahead of Day 3 and some of them were capable to back them up with healthy chip stacks. Day 2 chip leader OJ Ojiri was confident in his abilities to make the final table but in the end he had to settle for the 19th place ahead of Jonathan Tamayo. Owen Crowe made a deep run in event 56, but was sent to the rail in the 11th place, just a few hands before the final table was set.

Sebastien Comel has a slight advantage over the field of nine but he bled chips and eventually lost an all-in against Josh Arieh. He was dealt pocket Kings but they couldn’t hold against A-Q and had to settle for the eighth place and roughly $70,000. Josh Arieh celebrated his victory on Twitter but his success was short-lived, because he soon went all in with a pair against Vincent Maglio’s straight and lost it all:

Kirill Rabtsov and Dan Owen lost their chips to Nikolaus Teichert, consolidating his position at the top of the list and giving him the first chance to win the tournament. The surviving players will return tomorrow at 1 PM for the heads up, meanwhile check out the names of those who made the final table:

  1. Nikolaus Teichert – 730,756
  2. Vincent Maglio – 452,008
  3. Dan Owen – 312,516
  4. Sergey Lebedev – 225,392
  5. Josh Arieh – 164,768
  6. Kirill Rabtsov – 122,036
  7. Nicolas Faure – 122,036
  8. Sebastien Comel – 69,627
  9. Nicolas Levi – 53,593

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− six = 3

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>