Pages Navigation Menu

WSOPE Event 2 – Esfandiari Scoops The Win

WSOPE Event 2 – Esfandiari Scoops The Win

Antonio Esfandiari added another title to his name yesterday as he won the World Series Of Poker Europe Event 2. That makes it two bracelets this year from the WSOP after he beat a field of 626 players to claim the victory.

His heads up session was against Remi Bollengier of which he eventually won to take the bracelet and the first place prize of €126,207. Not bad for a €1,100 buy-in for the NLHE event. This now takes his tally of gold bracelets to three with two coming in this year alone.

The victory also moved him up above Greg Merson in the World Series Of Poker World Player Of The Year rankings.

The Final Table!

Esfandiari was actually the chip leader heading into the final table with 393,000 in chips, though he was still up against some big names such as Mclean Karr, Salvatore Bonavena and the ever aggressive Antonin Teisseire.

The first elimination was of the short stack Florian Ciuro who was then followed by Jamel Haddad. We then lost Ashley Butler who had been the chip leader at one point during the tournament and can be extremely pleased with how he has played in this tournament.

Karr eventually fell in 6th place when his Q-10 all-in was called by Esfandiari and his A-8, an ace showed to give Esfandiari the pot and send Karr to the rails. He was quickly followed out the door by three more players in Valentin Detoc, Antonin Teisseire and Salvatore Bonavena to leave the game at heads up.

This left Esfandiari and Bollengier with the latter attempting to become the first French winner of the event since it started being held in France. However it never materialized and he will have to make do with the second place finish and the €78,059 went with it.

That now means that Esfandiari has now had a total of eight cashes in World Series Of Poker events this year alone, which of course includes the biggest poker tournament to be held in history; the Big One For One Drop High Roller event at the WSOP 2012.

There has been some criticism about that event being allowed to contribute to the player of the year race as there were only 48 entrants as well as it being an event that not just anyone can enter considering the $1 million buy-in.

• 1st Antonio Esfandiari – €126,207

• 2nd Remi Bollengier – €78,059

• 3rd Salvatore Bonavena – €57,079

• 4th Antonin Teisseire – €42,356

• 5th Valentin Detoc – €31,869

• 6th McLean Karr – €24,309

• 7th Ashly Butler – €18,798

• 8th Jamel Haddad – €14,736

• 9th Florian Ciuro – €11,707



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>