WSOPE Events 2 & 4 – Johansson Wins Bracelet

Bracelet Winner Henrik Johansson

Another day at the World Series Of Poker Europe brought us a bracelet winner and the start of the fourth event, with the action in both events proving to be the usual high octane stuff. We had three events in total being played out yesterday, though the two we will be discussing either finished or started yesterday.

WSOPE Event #2 – €1,100 No Limit Holdem Re-Entry Day 3

The second bracelet of the 2013 WSOPE was awarded last night as Henrik Johannson who managed to turn his start of the day chip lead into a much deserved win here in France. This was all done in extremely quick fashion too as the final table only saw 91 hands before he was revealed as the winner.

He led the whole day with the biggest hand easily being when down to three handed, with him getting lucky on the river. He had pocket kings whilst Yaniv Botol held pocket fours, which were improved on the flop to have him in front, yet a king on the river saw Johansson rocket in to a huge advantage for heads up.

Heads up didn’t last long for that reason and he walked away with his first ever WSOP bracelet and a winner’s cheque for €129,700.

How It Finished

1st) Henrik Johansson – €129,700

2nd) Adriano Torre-Grossa – €80,250

3rd) Yaniv Botbol – €58,860

4th) Daniel Weinman – €43,772

5th) Serge Ekert – €32,992

6th) Daniel Laidlaw – €25,190

7th) Jose Obadia – €19,498

8th) Jean-Philippe Tuffery – €15,285

9th) Andrei Konopelko – €12,134

WSOPE Event #4 – €1,650 Pot Limit Omaha Day 1

With the WSOPE now at around the halfway mark, the chances for players to win a bracelet are starting to dwindle. This fourth event saw 184 players register to attempt to claim a WSOPE bracelet with big names such as Jason Mercier, Jeremy Ausmus, Mohsin Charania and Mike Watson all progressing into Day 2.

The player that topped the chip counts come the end of Day 1 was Ryan Chapman after he amassed 96,600 to put himself more than 25k clear of Jan Jachtmann in second place.

The Current Top Ten

1st) Ryan Chapman – 96,600

2nd) Jan Peter Jachtmann – 69,900

3rd) Fabrice Soulier – 63,400

4th) Jason Mercier – 46,700

5th) Jeremy Ausmus – 39,400

6th) Yohann Aube – 38,100

7th) Jonathan Little – 36,700

8th) Michael Schwartz – 35,900

9th) Mariov Denishev – 34,300

10th) Martin Kozlov – 32,500

The prize pool information was also revealed for this event with the top 21 finishers being the ones that will take a slice of the money, with a minimum payout of €2,997 and first place payout of €70,324.

Top Ten Payouts

1st) €70,324

2nd) €43,441

3rd) €31,367

4th) €23,036

5th) €17,210

6th) €13,077

7th) €10,102

8th) €7,933

9th) €6,335

10th) €5,131