Zisimopoulos Bags EPT London Day 1b Chip Lead

London, UK

Almost twice the number of players as in Day 1a, 441 to be exact, paid their £4250 buy-in for Day 1b of the EPT London Main Event, making this the largest EPT London since 2011. After eight seventy-five minute levels the field was reduced to 280 and some of those returning set the stage for a potentially history making event.

Team PokerStars pros were well represented on Day 1b as all of them made it thorough to Day 2.

Liv Boeree is still in contention with a decent amount of chips and is one of the players still in the hunt to become only the second EPT Main Event Champion.

Fredrik Jensen, Nicolas Chouity, Robin Ylitalo, and Davidi Kitai are still in the tournament as their hopes of a second EPT championship are still alive. In Season 3 Victoria Coren Mitchell claimed her first championship at EPT London. She made history when she became the first two-time EPT Main Event winner. She was a force at the tables today and ended the day with a top 10 chip stack and is the only player in the running to claim a third title. PokerStars Mind Sport Ambassador Jennifer Shahade ended the day with a respectable amount of chips as did, Elky Grospellier, Theo Jorgensen, Shannon Shorr, and last year’s final table surprise player Leo McClean.

On Sunday night Olivier Busquet took home £107,000 by winning the UKIPT High Roller event, but he could not sustain the momentum and was eliminated from play. Other players joining him on the rail include David “Devilfish” Ulliott, Griffin Benger, Phillipp Gruissem, Tom Middleton and Martin Finger.

The player bagging the most chips was Georgios Zisimopoulos, with 171,500. The Greek player overtook Leo Nordin late in the day. Nordin eliminated a player during the first ten minutes of play and held the chip lead most of the day.

The players from both opening flights will unbag their chips at midday on Tuesday for the start of Day 2.

Top 10 Chips Counts:

Georgios Zisimopoulos 171,500
Leo Nordin 169,100
Nicolas Chouity 152,700
Bertrand Grospellier 147,900
Pablo Gordillo ES 145,000
Frederik Jensen 124,000
Christopher Swaminathan 121,600
Victoria Coren Mitchell 115,000
Marco Caza 114,000
Steven Watts 111,000